Vaping and the use of E-Cigarettes has become more and more popular over the last few years. Vapes and E-Cigarettes are on target to outsell tobacco cigarettes in the next few years according to some research. Unfortunately, their popularity among young people has grown dramatically also. Many people are under the belief that vaping or possessing vape products is not illegal for juveniles. Or they believe that it is not illegal if it does not contain nicotine.  This is not true. In the State of Oklahoma, vapes are regulated by the same laws as tobacco. You must be older than 18 to be in possession of a vape or vape products and our state laws specifically spell out that it does not have to contain nicotine to be illegal for a juvenile to purchase or possess vaping products. Also, anyone who sells or provides vape products to a person under the age of 18 can be charged with a crime. The law regulating possession of vapes or vape products by a juvenile is found in Title 10A, Article 2 of the Oklahoma Juvenile Code, Sections 2-8 224. 

The definition of vapor products is contained in the same law as cigarettes and other tobacco products and can be found in Title 37, Chapter 4 Section 600.2.  The law concerning the sale of vape products to juveniles as a retailer or furnish vapor products to those under 18 years of age is found in Title 37, Chapter 4 Section 600.3. Both are part of the prevention of Youth Access to Tobacco Act. A maximum fine of $100, plus court costs, can be levied on the first offense and up to a $200 fine for second and subsequent offenses in a year.

Story provided by the Ponca City Police Department