Listen Live

Kay County One Of Seven Counties Added To FEMA Disaster Assistance

OKLAHOMA CITY – Following more preliminary damage assessments, seven more Oklahoma counties are being designated for FEMA disaster assistance as part of the federal disaster declaration from recent severe storms dating back to May 7 which brough severe storms, high winds, tornadoes and flooding.

The seven new counties include Delaware, Kay, Mayes, Okmulgee, Payne, Pottawatomie and Sequoyah. Over the weekend, FEMA added Canadian, Creek, Logan, Muskogee, Osage, Ottawa, Rogers, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington Counties.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses that might not be met by insurance or other assistance programs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to businesses, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters to cover residential and business losses as a result of the disaster.

Residents and business owners that have been affected in the newly designated counties may apply for disaster assistance by calling FEMA’s toll-free registration number, 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800- 462-7585. An application may also be completed online by going to

Applicants can apply for a low-interest disaster loan online using SBA’s secure website at

In addition, applicants can get more information on SBA disaster assistance by calling SBA’s

Customer Service Center at (800) 659-2955, by visiting, or by emailing

[email protected]. Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing may call (800) 877-8339.

If you would like to learn more about FEMA, go to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *